Everyone at the Alliance has one goal, to make every child a graduate.
boilerplate image

ESSA in States

Under ESSA, states received flexibility to chart their own path to educational success, but they must submit a plan to the U.S. Department of Education explaining how they will reach these goals. So far, sixteen states and the District of Columbia have submitted their plans with the remainder due in September 2017.

To provide a quick reference guide of strengths—and shortcomings—for each state’s plan the Alliance created the series, “ESSA Equity Dashboards.” Read the press release: New Analyses Identify Shortcomings and Strengths in State ESSA Plans

Access your state’s dashboard or see where your state is in the process via the list below:

ESSA Equity Dashboards Now Available


ESSA Equity Dashboards Available Early October 2017

  • Michigan
  • Oregon


States That Will Submit Their ESSA Plan to U.S. Department of Education in September 2017:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
Every Child a Graduate. Every Child Prepared for Life.